10 Books To Read If You Liked The Series Adaptations

Many TV adaptations have taken the spotlight and credit away from the real heroes who are the books that created the TV adaptations. It seems too often now that the books are swept under the bed waiting for the TV adaptation to come out instead.

RELATED: 8 Most Anticipated Book-to-Film Adaptations Coming In 2023

It should never be, and it’s almost always that the books made a much better story than the TV adaptation could ever attempt. This is usually because television adaptations cannot represent the true level of depth of emotions, thoughts and understanding behind the story and characters as in normal people, The Hobbit, American psychoand Gatsby the magnificent.

The hunger Games

The-Hunger-Games-Mockingjay
Image Via Lionsgate

The hunger Games is a dystopian sci-fi adventure series that follows a wealthy capital and 13 poor and struggling neighborhoods that are sent to fight each other to the death. There can only be one winner. Katniss Everdeen is their face for the coming revolution.

The movies are brilliant, thrilling and captivating, however, the books give this story much more detail by giving much more explanation and scenic description. It describes the emotions, thoughts and understanding of the characters better than the reactions and dialogues in the movies.

A Song of Ice and Fire Series

Cersei from Game of Thrones sitting on the Iron Throne

A song of ice and fire series is the name of the book series for the television adaptation of game of thrones. It follows nine noble families as they fight against each other to take control of the mystical land of Westeros. There are many complications during this battle, including love, hate, and betrayal.

RELATED: 5 Best & 5 Worst Book Adaptations To Film & TV

This is a great choice for those who have reviewed game of thrones many times it gives a new perspective on movies that you will never have seen before. There are five books to immerse you in slow-paced mythical reading.

Harry Potter series

Harry Potter fighting in the Battle of Hogwarts in 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2'

The Harry Potter is a fantasy adventure series that follows a young orphan boy who has been enrolled in the incredible school of wizardry, Hogwarts. As Harry begins his enrollment, he begins to learn more about himself, his family, and the evil beings who want him gone.

Books are loved by Harry Potter fans and are a must read if you like Harry Potter and I have never read them. It gives beautiful scenic descriptions and a better understanding of the actions and thoughts of the characters.

Gatsby the magnificent

Gatsby sitting in a chair waiting for Daisy, surrounded by flowers.

Gatsby the magnificent is a gripping 1922 story about a wealthy, mysterious man who is completely in love with an unavailable woman. This story comes with its fair share of drama, heartbreak, twists, and thrilling scenes. The film is very fast unlike the books.

The main reason why this film is so well known is that the majority of students must have read the book in school. The movie doesn’t come close to the book because the real emotion felt in the book is inaccessible while watching the movie. Also, you don’t have time to fully enjoy the scenes in the movie, as one scene lasts barely more than 5 minutes in the movie. The book gives you time to breathe and experience emotional moments.

The Hobbit

The Cast and Crew of The Hobbit

The Hobbit is a fantasy adventure series that follows a young hobbit living a simple life until the wizard Gandalf convinces him to leave his life behind and go on an adventure with a band of dwarves to retake the kingdom of Erebor.

RELATED: 10 Classic Movies That Overshadowed The Books They Were Based On

The film adaptations were downplayed compared to the books, unlike the the Lord of the Rings film adaptations. They focused too much on CGI and not enough on practical effects. The series should have been in two parts instead of three, making it a much slower watch and requiring patience while watching. Books give a much more exciting and quicker take unlike movies.

Sharp objects

sharp objects
Picture via HBO

Sharp objects follows a journalist, Camille, as she covers the story of the murder of two pre-teens. Camille has just been released from a psychiatric ward and therefore has a lot of her own demons to contend with while covering up this macabre event.

The book goes into so much more detail about how Camille deals with her demons and the real mental health issues she goes through. He explains his thoughts and emotions in much more detail than the TV series. It’s a must-read if you liked this adaptation of the TV show.

looking for alaska

looking for alaska
Picture via Hulu

looking for alaska is a teen drama that highlights grief, meaning and hope in life while showing coming-of-age relationships. It follows Miles Halter as he enrolls in boarding school with the intention of finding the “Great Maybe”.

RELATED: 10 Best Book-Movie Adaptations That Owned The Box Office

The book shows a much deeper depiction of the grief, loss, and confusion felt by the characters. While the miniseries is very good, it falls far short of the book. There were 13 years between the book and the series and so the expected years of hype may have overshadowed the true brilliance of the TV adaptation.

The Twilight series

Jacob, Bella and Edward from The Twilight Saga standing together

The Twilight series follows Bella as she moves into her father’s house in Forks. Here, she falls in love with a vegetarian vampire and befriends a werewolf. This fantasy romance film depicts obsessive love, longing and heartbreak as many obstacles stand in their way.

The film adaptations were nowhere near the level of the books. Indeed, the two main actors, Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattersonwere seen as very stiff, grumpy, and clumsy on screen, this took away from the books’ desired impact.

American psycho

Patrick Bateman (Christian Bale) on a couch smoking and wearing sunglasses in 'American Psycho'

American psycho follows a wealthy investment bank executive, Patrick Bateman, who tried to hide his psychopathic alter ego from his colleagues. We see an interesting insight into the life and mindset of a psychopathic killer.

RELATED: 10 Book-To-Movie Adaptations That Had Nothing To Do With The Books

The film was unable to fully bring out the meaning of the book because it should have metaphorically shown the hell and cannibalism of today’s society. He paints Wall Street as a terrible place where brokers only consume. This movie is still a brilliant take, but it doesn’t dive deep enough into the hidden meaning like the book does.

normal people

Two people sitting on the floor and talking to each other

normal people follows the romantic story of Connell and Marianne who are complete opposites but seem to continue to be drawn to each other in a small Irish town. It shows their life as they date other people, but still end up together.

The TV adaptation makes the characters much more superficial, like moody characters that don’t give them any special characteristics. The book completely changes the perspective of these characters as they have more depth to their lives and personalities and gives them a certain spark.

NEXT:10 Times The Movie Was Better Than The Book

10 Books To Read If You Liked The Series Adaptations – GameSpot