5 books to read if you love vampires

They suck blood, hate sunlight, live for millennia. Who are we talking about? Today we advise you 5 books to read if you love vampires. Fascinating creatures, vampires. Dangerous creatures, often cruel, but undoubtedly fascinating. The figure of the vampire has been part of literature for centuries e evolves from a literary point of view according to the times he lives.

In the history of literature, vampires are often associated with romantic, long and heartbreaking love stories. Protagonists of impossible loves and closer to the world of the dead than to that of the living, vampires dominate time crystallized in their cold beauty. But which books to read if you love vampires?

Here are five titles.

Dracula

When it comes to vampires, you can’t help but start by reading Dracula from Bram Stoker, a masterpiece of classical literature written in 1897 and which is still today the quintessential vampire novel. From these pages was born the myth of the notorious character of Count Dracula, the latter inspired by the historical figure of Vlad III of Wallachia.

Gothic novel with an epistolary form, it invites us to follow the protagonists in the gloomy atmosphere of sinister residences between Transylvania and England. There you will find a man thirsty for blood, murders, secret journals, several battles and, of course, a tormented love.



See on Amazon

Interview with the vampire

Interview with the vampire is the first novel in the Vampire Chronicles of Anne Rice. Released for the first time in 1976, it quickly became an incredibly successful best seller, so much so that in 1994 the film of the same name was made with Tom Cruise and Brad Pitt. In this story, a modern day journalist interviews a vampire who has inhabited the world for nearly two centuries. He will discover chilling realities and will have to avert a very serious danger for humanity.





See on Amazon

Twilight

How not to mention the saga of Twilight from Stephenie Meyer? Although at first it created quite a stir that the vampires starring in the series of books and subsequent films were “vegetarians”, and that they refused to feed on human blood to fit into the communities they inhabit, in the end everyone ended up worshiping the Cullens.

In this story you will of course also find humans and werewolves. And obviously a love triangle between a vampire, a human, and a wolf boy.





See on Amazon

The vampire diary

The vampire diary is the first in a series of novels written by Lisa J. Smith and started in 1991. Stefan and Damon Salvatore are two brothers. Or rather, two vampire brothers. And of course they fall in love with the same girl, Elena Gilbert. From these books was born a TV series that has had eight seasons and a great success.





See on Amazon

Carmilla

Carmilla is one of the first vampire stories in the history of literature, written even before Dracula, in 1872. Written by Sheridan Le Fanu, this short novel tells the story of a beautiful girl who becomes part of the lives of Laura and her father, who offer to host her after a carriage accident. But the young woman is not a girl like the others …

Do you love vampires? What other books would you recommend reading about these creatures? We look forward to seeing you in the comments.





See on Amazon



5 books to read if you love vampires